Other coaches received too few votes to top Gonzaga’s Few

Gonzaga forward Johnathan Williams (3) celebrates with teammates after dunking against Xavier during the second half of an NCAA Tournament college basketball regional final game Saturday, March 25, 2017, in San Jose, Calif. (AP Photo/Ben Margot)

Northwestern’s Chris Collins deserved to win AP Coach of the Year instead of Gonzaga’s Mark Few. Do you agree?

The story:

Gonzaga coach Mark Few was named The Associated Press Coach of the Year on Thursday at the Final Four. Few has his team with him as the Zags are making their first Final Four appearance. “I don’t know that it really truly sinks in. And again, it’s a credit to this team that God has put me in position to lead,” Few said. “But again, it’s not really about me. I mean, this is about Gonzaga and this year.”

The vote:

Few, who has a career record of 502-112, received 37 votes from the same 65-member national media panel that selects the weekly Top 25. Sean Miller of Arizona received eight votes while Chris Collins of Northwestern had seven and Southern Methodist’s Tim Jankovich got six.

Competitive race:

This was a very competitive race this season. Sean Miller lost two players expected to be key pieces this season — and had Allonzo Trier miss 19 games — but guided Arizona to the Pac-12 Tournament championship. Jay Wright led Villanova to another Big East title despite two cornerstone pieces — Ryan Arcidiancono and Daniel Ochefu — gone from last season’s national championship team. For a while, Baylor’s Scott Drew seemed to be the favorite. The Bears didn’t receive a single vote in the preseason top-25 poll but went on to earn a No. 1 ranking.

First win for Few:

Few is the first coach in Gonzaga history to win the AP’s yearly honor. He is the second coach from a non-Power Five conference to win in the last decade (Wichita State’s Gregg Marshall, 2014).

Mark Few:

“Every player that ever made the sacrifices to put that brick on that foundation,” Few said. “It’s a unique house. We’re not from the traditional blueblood deal. We’ve worked hard to get to this point. It truly takes a village to run a basketball program. I have the greatest village in the world with the coaches I have, Tommy Lloyd, Donny Daniels, Brian Michaelson, John Jakus, Riccardo Fois, just an amazing group. An award like this is about this year. This team I’ve been able to coach this year has been remarkable, so consistent, so connected. They’re just a dream come true.”

Few always making more out of less:

Zag’s run to the Final Four:

Who should have been Coach of the Year?:

What do you think? Who deserved Coach of the Year?

Debate by downloading our app on iOS at apple.co/1ITwL4w or on Android at bit.ly/fandings. You also can play online at playfandings.com.